Dr. Brother

My brother graduated from medical school last weekend! He’s a doctor now! I took a redeye flight Friday night to arrive early Saturday morning so I could spend the weekend with him and attend his graduation ceremony. The only other time I had been there was when I helped my brother move in for medical school four years ago!

My parents and sister also flew in to see my brother graduate. The last time we were all together was nearly a year ago, when we went to Disneyland for Father’s Day. It’s also been many years since my whole family has taken a vacation together; it’s usually a big ordeal even just to get all five of us together for one day at home.

My parents and sister were staying in town longer than I was (because my schedule is less flexible than theirs), so my brother tried to cram in as much sight-seeing and landmark hopping as possible. I didn’t sleep much on the plane, so the nonstop walking and adventuring left me exhausted the whole weekend. I had a great time though; I took a lot of great pictures.

The graduation ceremony was wonderful. I’m so proud and happy that my brother is an MD! He doubted himself so many times over the years, often regretting his decision (that he made seven years ago!) to leave his stable but unfulfilling job for the far more difficult road of medicine. He gave up his job and moved far away from his family and friends to pursue his dream (that none of us knew he had). He wanted to drop out of medical school so many times, always thinking he couldn’t cut it (no pun intended).

But now he’s a doctor! Not only that, but he matched with his top choice for residency! Even with all his doubts, he made it! Yay!

Leave a Reply

