Need: One Best Man Speech

My best friend from high school is getting married in a couple days, and I’m the best man. I’ve been trying to think of what to say for more than a week, but I still haven’t written my speech yet. I think I’ve come up with a good overall theme involving how long and solid our friendship has been because of my friend’s character and how that will translate into a long and solid marriage, but I haven’t thought of any funny or lighthearted anecdotes yet.

In related news, in lieu of a bachelor party, my high school bestie decided on a low-key poker night. It was a very manly event: there was poker, pizza, and beer with sports on TV in the background. I’m not very good at playing poker, but I did have very good luck for the majority of the evening. I ended the evening with $20 extra in my pocket! My high school bestie was out $25, though. Hopefully he still had a good time!

Meanwhile, my friend’s fiancee had a bachelorette party which involved going to a prominent restaurant in West Hollywood and watching a drag queen karaoke show. If I wasn’t the best man, I may have been tempted to attend the bachelorette party instead of the poker night!

I really am quite nervous about my speech. I hate public speaking. It’s so scary! I’m also bad at being funny, especially when I prepare for it. My jokes, if I can come up with them at all, are usually best when they’re made up on the spot. I may have to be more sentimental than humorous.

I’m hanging out with my college bestie in a few hours to celebrate the new year, so hopefully she can help me flesh out my best man speech. Sometimes it helps to have a second opinion.

Leave a Reply

