A Whole Book Part II

At the beginning of the year, I made a New Year’s resolution to read a whole book. The book I planned to read this year is “Robin and Ruby,” the sequel to “The World of Normal Boys” (my favorite book after which this blog is named). It came out in March, but I didn’t buy it until June because I knew I wouldn’t have time to read it during school. I tried starting the book over the summer, but I kept getting distracted by other things and forgetting what happened before I got very far.

I left my copy of “Robin and Ruby” with my friends in Canada with whom I stayed when I visited in August. They had read “The World of Normal Boys” a few years ago because I had chosen it as a selection for our (now disbanded) book club (an informal group of math graduate students who wanted to read and discuss non-math books), so I figured they would enjoy reading the sequel. I didn’t buy a new copy for myself until October, when I went to the street fair in The City (not all bookstores carry the book, but I knew the bookstore on Gay Street would have it). By then I was back in school, so I again didn’t have time (or decided not to make time) to read it.

Once the school term ended, I told myself I would start the book again and finish it before the end of the year. I started the book a little over a week ago, on my flight back home from school. I’m 104 pages in, out of 276. With a week left in the year, I’m more determined than ever to finish this book. I waited nearly ten years for a sequel to “The World of Normal Boys,” and I’ve waited almost the entire year to make good on my New Year’s resolution. I’m enjoying the book so far, which is a good sign. It should get easier the further I get in the book.

Wish me luck!

Posted in Me. Tags: , , . 1 Comment »

One Response to “A Whole Book Part II”

  1. amy Says:

    good luck!


Leave a Reply

