Reservation For One

With only a couple weeks until my final exams for the term, I decided not to go home for Thanksgiving this year. This isn’t the first Thanksgiving I’ve spent away from home, but this was the first one where I wasn’t near any of my friends or family at all. The two friends I made here (the couple who live in my building) went home for the weekend, and my roommate went out of state to visit his girlfriend.

Even without my friends and family around, I wanted to celebrate Thanksgiving somehow. Last week, I found out that a nearby fancy restaurant would have a special dinner menu for Thanksgiving. I wasn’t sure if they would take walk-ins on Thanksgiving Day, so I planned ahead and made a reservation for one.

I arrived at the restaurant about 15 minutes early, but I was seated immediately. My table was between two couples. In fact, looking around the restaurant, there were many couples and a few larger family gatherings. Mine was probably the only single-person table there. I didn’t really mind though.

Anyway. The dinner was wonderful. The portions of turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, and cranberry sauce were quite generous (not that I was full by any means, of course). The dinner included dessert, which was a choice of either pecan or pumpkin pie. I love pecan pie, but I had never had pumpkin pie before, so I chose the pumpkin. My sister has always raved about how amazing pumpkin pie is, but honestly, I didn’t see what the big deal was. Maybe I’m just more of a cake person.

Before I left, I asked the waitress to take a picture for me. At first she took a picture of me at my table, but she suggested that I also take a picture next to the Christmas tree that was near the front door of the restaurant. The pictures came out a little blurry, but at least I have some pictures to remember the evening.

Even though I was alone all day, I never felt lonely. As is Thanksgiving tradition, I use this day to reflect on what I’m thankful for. I’m thankful for my friends and family. I wasn’t able to spend Thanksgiving with any of them this year, but I can feel them close to me in my heart (cheesy, I know, but it’s true). I’m thankful for being at Prestigious University, studying what I love. I’m also thankful to have the means to treat myself to a fancy Thanksgiving dinner, as so many people can’t afford it.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Posted in Me. Tags: . 1 Comment »

One Response to “Reservation For One”

  1. Jonathan Says:

    Aww you are always welcome with my crazy family! 🙂


Leave a Reply

