Unable To Sing

It’s been a rough week. My scratchy throat and sexy voice became a full blown cold very quickly. I had aches, nasal congestion, and a sore throat for three days. My voice became less sexy and very weak. I didn’t even know what my voice would sound like before I spoke. After the aches went away, I developed a cough. I drank lots of tea, but I sadly haven’t had any coffee the whole week. My throat is no longer sore, but I’m still unable to sing.

I feel like my recovery has been slower than usual because I haven’t been sleeping very well. I had an epic statistics homework assignment due last Thursday for which I stayed up until 4:30am the night before to finish. Staying up way too late is never good when you’re sick.

Besides that night, I’ve also been waking up multiple times during the night, which is not something I’m used to. Usually when I’m sick, I can take some medicine before bed and sleep soundly through the night. This week, though, the medicine doesn’t seem to have the same effect. Even after taking phenylephrine HCl (nasal decongestant) and diphenhydramine HCl (antihistamine/cough suppressant), I still cough up lots of phlegm balls (gross, I know). I just can’t seem to get a good night’s sleep.

I’ve been relaxing a lot this weekend, so I’m definitely on the mend, but I’m still worried about my singing voice. My falsetto is always the first thing to go and the last thing to come back when I get sick. My choir concerts are at the end of the week. I already had to sit out on the rehearsals for both of my choirs last week, and I’ll probably have to miss out on at least some of the rehearsals this week.

Every time I get sick and lose my voice, I’m always afraid that my falsetto will never return. I’ve always prided myself on my falsetto. Being a countertenor/male soprano makes me feel somewhat special in choir, like I bring something no one else can (or does, at least). It’s a big deal to me that I can’t even sing a single note right now.

Let’s see what the next few days bring.

Leave a Reply

