A Signed Lease And A Street Fair

I went to The City again last weekend to fulfill my landlord proxy duties. Despite “my” cute/hot new tenant being confused and late to our meeting, the lease signing went off without a hitch. We did a quick walk through of the condo, I briefly went over the major points of the lease, he gave me the first month’s rent with the security deposit, and then we both signed the lease. It was so official. I felt like a real landlord!

Towards the end of our meeting, my cute/hot new tenant asked for my number. No, it wasn’t because he thinks I’m cute/hot. Don’t I wish! It was because my English is much easier to understand than my dad’s, since I don’t have a Chinese accent. My tenant prefers to deal with me as an intermediary between him and my dad. I was definitely flattered. I like feeling important. He put my number in his iPhone. Next to my name, he almost put “Landlord,” until I corrected him to say “Landlord’s son/brother.” It’s a little confusing to the tenant as to who is really the landlord, considering he’ll probably never interact with my brother.

My old officemate from my previous graduate school (reminder: he’s doing a postdoc at Prestigious University) and his girlfriend live in The City, so I met up with them the next day (Sunday). We went to the gay neighborhood of The City, let’s call it Gay Street, because there was a big street fair going on. It was very similar to a pride parade, except there were more booths from community organizations or businesses and less parades. It’s been a long time since I’ve been out during the day with a lot of other gay guys around, so it was a lot of fun. I got a free rainbow pride rubber bracelet!

I’ve been friends with my old officemate for about six years, but I never officially came out to him. It was his idea to go to the Gay Street fair, so he’s definitely accepting of gay people, but I think it would be strange to make a big deal out of my sexuality after all this time. I’m sure I thought a lot more about this than he did, so I still didn’t say anything. I just acted like myself while we were at the fair, as if he knew already. He probably does know and has known for a long time anyway. There has never been any awkwardness between us, so I saw no reason to change that.

Anyway. I had a great weekend, but it set my study schedule behind a bit. I’ve had a very time consuming homework this week (which I’m taking a break from to write this), so I’ve been spending every spare minute working on it. This homework is due tomorrow, so I hope I can catch up (and be ahead of the game) over the next few days.

One Response to “A Signed Lease And A Street Fair”

  1. A Whole Book Part II « Normal Boy Says:

    […] enjoy reading the sequel. I didn’t buy a new copy for myself until October, when I went to the street fair in The City (not all bookstores carry the book, but I knew the bookstore on Gay Street would have […]


Leave a Reply

