Two Choirs

As I had mentioned in a previous post, I’m interested in two university-run choirs. I attended one last night and the other one tonight. The choir last night had about 200 singers, whereas tonight’s choir had less than 30. The ensembles are very different, both in repertoire and atmosphere.

I had heard that the sight singing would be more challenging in the smaller group, but I was mostly able to keep up with everyone (who all seem to be very experienced). Fearing that my voice was still recovering from last night, I drank extra water and sucked on a few pieces of Ricola throughout the day. My voice still gave out again towards the end of tonight’s rehearsal, but it wasn’t nearly as bad as last night.

So here is my dilemma: I really like both choirs, but I’m not sure if I should stay in both. I originally anticipated only joining one choir to keep my extracurricular time commitments at a minimum. Individually, each choir has only one rehearsal a week, but being in both means double the time spent away from studying for my other classes. Since my classes haven’t assigned any homework yet, it’s difficult to tell how these choirs will interfere with my schedule over the term.

On the other hand, if I always tell myself I won’t have time, then I won’t have time. I hesitated for two years before joining a choir in my previous graduate school because I thought I wouldn’t have time for it. Once I did join, I wondered what I had done with my Monday nights before then. If I decided to stay in both, they would become part of my schedule, and I wouldn’t even notice the time commitment anymore. At least that’s the hope.

In other news, this is my 500th blog post! Yay! I’ll try to do my annual retrospective next week for my third blog anniversary.

One Response to “Two Choirs”

  1. Lisa S. Says:

    I always found through school that the busier I was with work and other commitments, the better I was at managing my time and subsequently, the better my grades were. My best semester of undergrad was by far my best grade-wise, and I was working 35-45 hours a week between two jobs. 🙂


Leave a Reply

