Verbotene Liebe

I reconnected with an old high school friend last week over Facebook. We actually met in junior high, but we haven’t met since the end of high school. We were commenting on the same side of an intense argument about morality on a mutual friend’s status update, which led to us chatting over Facebook’s built-in instant messenger. The next thing I knew, she called me up and we talked over the phone for four and a half hours! We certainly made up for lost time!

I love that my old friend is so different and yet so similar to me. I studied math and statistics while she studied English literature and theatre, but we seem to think the same way on many topics. Among the many (many) things we talked about in our long phone conversation was my sexuality and our different tastes in guys (there’s some overlap). A couple days ago, she sent me a link to YouTube videos of a German soap opera called Verbotene Liebe (Forbidden Love). The videos are condensed clips of a storyline between two gay guys on the show, Christian and Olli (Oliver). She prefers Christian (the tough athlete), but I prefer Olli (the patient romantic).

Since my friend sent me the link to the videos, I haven’t been able to do much else. I was up until past 4am the last two nights watching these two adorably cute/hot guys go from practically hating each other to falling head over heels in love. The two are quite possibly the cutest fictional couple I’ve ever seen.

Their storyline started almost three years ago, so I have a lot of catching up to do. Luckily, I’m beyond addicted. There are currently 310 clips (and counting!), and I just finished watching Part 177!

It’s hard to choose a clip that isn’t incredibly full of spoilers, but this one is a pretty good place to start. It is Part 40.

My friend suggested to start from this video, but I started from Part 1 so I didn’t miss any of the backstory. The link to all of the videos is here!

Side note: If you happen to get addicted and watch the videos too, you’ll find that Christian and Olli are not the only cute guys on the show. They’re everywhere! Yay for cute German guys!

One Response to “Verbotene Liebe”

  1. Frosted Cupcakes And New Clothes « Normal Boy Says:

    […] mall with my high school friend with whom I recently reconnected (the one who got me addicted to Verbotene Liebe). This was the first time we had met since we graduated high school ten years ago, but it seemed […]


Leave a Reply

