The Days Are Just Packed

Wow, it’s so easy to fall off the blogging bandwagon. I didn’t mean for my summer vacation to also include taking a break from blogging.

Anyway, I’ve kept myself pretty busy the last month. To recap:

My brother came home around the middle of June (around Father’s Day, actually) for a ten-day summer break from medical school  (he started his fourth and last year as a medical student this month). One of the first things we did after he came back was go to Disneyland with my parents and my sister. I’m not sure if I had ever been to Disneyland with my sister before, so it was great to go with her. Also, I just love Disneyland!

Two days after we went to Disneyland, my family (not including my sister) and I drove  up to the Bay Area and spent about a week there. Before my brother decided to pursue the medical profession, he bought and lived in a condo in San Francisco for a year. The two tenants who lived there the last six years moved out a couple months ago and left a huge mess for my family to clean before we can rent the condo out to other people. Seriously, who leaves dishes in the cabinets and food in the refrigerator after moving out? Moreover, nothing was cleaned, and a lot of half-broken furniture was left behind for us to deal with.

We spent most of the week in the Bay Area cleaning and fixing up the condo. My dad and I still have to go back in a couple weeks to replace the carpets and install new blinds. We still took a little time to explore the city, though, so the trip wasn’t all business with no fun. I also got to visit the Monterey Bay Aquarium, since I didn’t get to go the last time I was in the area.

I spent July 4th with my best friend from elementary school, just like last year. His mom has a place in Marina del Rey with a beautiful view overlooking the marina, so we visited her (just like last year). The day was very much like I would imagine Independence Day should be: American food fresh off the barbecue, the beach, and fireworks. Good times (except for the sand on my sandals, but I’ll overlook that just this once)!

Just yesterday, an old friend from college who I haven’t seen in five years flew to LA for a visit. Five of the friends in our circle who live in LA (including me) gathered to have dinner and drinks with her. It was like a small reunion!

Several days sprinkled throughout the last month have also been spent with high school friends, my big sister from work, a friend from Target (the only one with whom I still keep in touch somewhat regularly), and extended family. I’m trying to see as many people as I can while I still live in LA. Only two months left before I move away (again) for graduate school!

Leave a Reply

