Sexual Orientation: Gay

I just filled out my on-campus housing application for graduate school. I was considering living off campus, but it makes more financial sense to live on campus. Under an optional section for comments to help in roommate selection, I put “sexual orientation: gay.”

I don’t know why, but my sexual orientation always seems like a strange thing to put on an application. I never once mentioned it in my graduate school applications, even if it may (or may not) have helped in showing how I help “diversify the graduate student population.” I prefer to be judged and accepted based on things that matter to my academics, rather than how socially different I am from other applicants.

I suppose a housing application is different from an academic application. I certainly wouldn’t want to be placed with a homophobic roommate. That would be both awkward and potentially dangerous.

2 Responses to “Sexual Orientation: Gay”

  1. Amy Says:

    You’ll probably get a single… They won’t want to put you with a straight guy, in case it’s awkward, and they won’t want to put you with another gay guy, in case it’s uh, too awesome?

    • normalboy Says:

      Haha! Yes, it might be too awesome. 🙂

      I don’t necessarily want/need a single, as a double is substantially less expensive. I felt that I needed to add my comment, though. In case they do assign me a roommate, I wouldn’t necessarily want the other person to feel like I hid anything.


Leave a Reply

