A Fun Final Exam

I spent the whole weekend working on my take-home final. It was substantially easier and shorter than the take-home final I had last term (I stayed up until 4:30am two nights in a row for that one). Still, my final demanded a lot of time, especially since I’m a perfectionist when it comes to writing up my solutions neatly. I always write solutions on scratch paper and then painstakingly write everything over again in a presentable way (presentable is actually a gross understatement). Sometimes copying the solution takes just as long (if not longer) than solving the problem.

The final was time-consuming, but I loved it. The final was very well made. Not many people say they like their finals, but I actually had a lot of fun figuring out the problems. One of the questions was especially challenging, which made it that much more rewarding when I figured it out (I actually did it two ways: a computationally heavy calculus solution and an elegant linear algebra proof). It’s a sign that I really do love what I do. I only hope I can still say that in graduate school.

As of a couple hours ago (when I turned in my final), I’m officially on spring break! I’ve forgotten what it’s like to have a spring break. I don’t know what to do with my time!

Posted in School. Tags: . Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

