Morning Nagging

My classes this term worked out so that my first half of the week is busy and full of classes but Thursdays are my day off. I usually sleep in and stay home (unless I meet my best friend from college on campus for lunch) to recuperate from the week and relax/study from home.

Now that my mom is retired, she stays at home on Thursdays too. So when I get up in the late morning (or sometimes the early afternoon if I’m lucky), she’ll make a comment about how it’s healthier to wake up earlier. My mom will then tell me to drink a cup of water. She believes that drinking a cup of warm water first thing in the morning is healthy. If I drink tepid water instead (it’s so much easier than fussing with a microwave or a stove in the morning), she tells me that warm is best.

I woke up late enough today that I decided to skip breakfast and just wait for lunch instead. This, of course, doesn’t sit well with my mom either. She asked me what I’m going to eat for lunch. I say I don’t know (I just got up, how do I know?), and she says “Well you can’t skip lunch too.” When did I say I was skipping lunch?

When I asked what my options are, she began to rattle off things in our refrigerator/freezer in a tone that made it seem like I should know these things. I admit it, I don’t know how to cook. As a result, I don’t have an encyclopedic knowledge of what’s inside my refrigerator the way my mom does. How can she expect me to know?

There are days when I don’t mind hanging out with my parents. For the most part, I get along with them (assuming we steer clear of the whole gay thing), but nagging so early in the day always rubs me the wrong way. I understand that my mom just wants what’s best for me, and I always try to maintain my patience (I hate upsetting my mom), but I really can’t handle being treated like a child anymore.

Posted in Family. Tags: . 1 Comment »

One Response to “Morning Nagging”

  1. Amy Says:

    The good news is that you are moving out in September! It’s way easier to put up with parents when you have your own space.


Leave a Reply

