A Great Opportunity

I’ve been in a pensive mood for the last few days. I can’t decide which offer to accept for graduate school. I’ve been distracting myself by watching Merlin. Needless to say, I’ve watched a lot of episodes of Merlin. I’m definitely addicted. I love the themes of destiny, friendship, and sacrifice. They seem oddly appropriate for the decision I have to make.

I’ve been trying to find an excuse to return to the Canadian city where I went to graduate school (the first time) ever since I left there three years ago. I now have the opportunity I was looking for. On the other hand, the school which accepted me to their Ph.D. program is offering a very tempting fellowship. The prestigious fellowship they are offering me is only given to one or two people a year, so I’m basically their top choice. They want me bad.

No matter what decision I choose, I will be both accepting and rejecting a great opportunity. The question is which opportunity I am more willing to live without.

6 Responses to “A Great Opportunity”

  1. Jonathan Says:

    Uh? The fellowship? Duh? Or I’ll beat you? 😛

  2. normalboy Says:

    I should also mention that the offer from the Canadian school is comparable to the fellowship, except it’s less prestigious and is a shorter commitment (because it’s for a master’s program, not a Ph.D.).

  3. Amy Says:

    A master’s in stats is a pretty useful thing. Don’t knock it! but still, think carefully. Listen to your gut, not your friends and family. Deep down inside, you know what’s best for you.

    • normalboy Says:

      No no, I’m not knocking the master’s. The shorter commitment is because master’s programs are shorter than Ph.D. ones, that’s all. The less prestigious part refers to the Canadian offer versus the fellowship. I think the Canadian offer is standard for most graduate students at that school, whereas the fellowship is for only a select few.

  4. Liam Says:

    If this Canadian city you speak of happens to have just hosted a major international sporting event, I would say hop on the next flight over! The city has been renewed with such an amazing spirit, it will never be the same again. If the university you speak of happens to rhyme (sort of) with “eulogy,” I’ll see you there next year.


Leave a Reply

