Reverse Reference Letter

About a week ago, the chair of the statistics department where I’m taking classes sent me an email asking me to write a letter evaluating  one of the professors I had last term based on her teaching style/ability. I’m honored to be asked to write such a letter. I’ve been given a rare opportunity where a student gets to give an elaborate evaluation of the instructor, rather than the other way around.

While she’s definitely one of the best professors I’ve ever had, I can’t seem to articulate my words very well in a formal letter. I have to write the letter, too. Not only do I want to, but my professor already wrote a reference letter for me and sent it to all of the graduate schools to which I’m applying. It’s good karma and respect to write a letter for her.

I’ve been trying to write this letter for most of the day, and I’ve only come up with sentence fragments. I think I know what I’m doing this weekend. I hate writer’s block.

Leave a Reply

