GRE Jitters

In a frustratingly ironic twist after yesterday’s post, I woke up today feeling stressed out and worried about the coming week. I know that worrying never helps anything; it’s only a hindrance. I try to stay positive and confident, but sometimes my nerves get the best of me.

I bought a book today to help me study for the GRE. I haven’t had time to study for the exam at all, and I really only have today to study (until Friday night after my midterms). I wish my scores still counted (I took the exam six years ago), or that my master’s degree would let me waive the requirement, but no such luck.

My jitters today may have also been compounded by a conversation I had with my brother this morning. He’s having a rough time in medical school, and he feels like his classmates are outperforming him. I told him that it doesn’t matter what other people are doing. All that matters is that he tries his best; worrying and comparing himself to others will only make things worse and more difficult. After all the positive advice I was giving to him, I got to thinking about my own upcoming challenges. I need to heed my own advice.

Posted in Me. Tags: , , . 6 Comments »

6 Responses to “GRE Jitters”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Tell this joke to your brother:

    What do you call a law student who graduates last in his class?

    A lawyer!

  2. Amy Says:

    Is it the regular GREs or the math GREs? For the math, work a ton of problems from the study guide. And don’t worry about confidence coming and going… I usually love my job, but the end of the semester is full of bumps and problems. I’m counting down the days ’til school ends!

    • normalboy Says:

      It’s the regular GRE. Luckily, statistics programs don’t require the math GRE.

      I know the regular GRE is far easier than the math GRE, but it’s still intimidating…

      I think I just get anxious before exams, especially standarized ones. I wonder if it’s post-traumatic stress disorder?

      • Amy Says:

        Keep in mind that the exam is 1/3 high school math, 1/3 logic. You should do well on those. The math questions literally involve things like fractions, and finding the area of a circle. Just relax on those! You’ll do awesome.

  3. Jonathan Says:

    I know you are trying to work towards contributing your best to the world.

    Even though you may still be unsure of what that contribution might be, the only way you are going to figure it out is by doing *something*, and you are, so keep going.

    Don’t mind jitters. You’re on your quest.


Leave a Reply

