0.2 Points

I got my first homework back from one of my classes today. I work very hard on making my homework neat, organized, and correct, so I always expect to see 100% when I get homework back. Needless to say I was surprised to see a 98% on the top of my work. I got a 9.8 out of 10 possible points.

I’m a huge perfectionist. Most people would probably be ecstatic with a 98%, but I was bothered by the missing 2%. Apparently my answer on one question deviated slightly from the answer key (I think my notation is a little more mathematically formal than that of most statisticians), so I lost 0.2 points.

I couldn’t figure out why I was marked wrong, so I approached my professor right away and asked her. She agreed that my answer was correct (though written a little differently from her key), so she changed my grade to 10 out of 10!

It seems almost ridiculous that I would fight to get 0.2 points back on my homework, but I deserved them! Every fraction of a point counts!

Leave a Reply

