First Week Of School

My first full week back in school was busy but good. I’m constantly stressed, but I didn’t feel as overwhelmed as I did on the first day. My classes are quite demanding; I have to study every day just to keep up. I don’t know how I used to have so much free time when I went to college the first time. I used to watch TV, hang out with friends, and go shopping while still managing to get good grades.

The biggest headache last week, though, was getting access to the course websites I need. All the lecture notes, homework, and annoucements are posted on the websites, but they are protected and can only be accessed by students enrolled in the courses. The processing time for my enrollment in my classes took almost the whole week. Because I’m a concurrent enrollment student, I’m not considered a “unversity student,” so until I was officially on their roster, my professors treated me like I wasn’t supposed to be in their classes. Even the advisor in the statistics department called me an “outsider.” Ouch. Fortunately, everything finally worked out by the end of the week, so I don’t need to waste time worrying about missing important information anymore.

In other news, I went in for my last (half) day at work on Tuesday. I spent most of that morning teaching my fellow accounting person a few procedures that only I knew how to do. My old boss barely spoke to me; she was more like her usual self, which was disappointing after the friendly reaction she gave me when I initially told her I was leaving.

I went to lunch with my old boss/friend, my big sister from work, and another coworker who I usually went to lunch with (after my work bestie left). I hadn’t gone to lunch with my old boss/friend in many months, so it was great that we could share one last lunch together. My friend/boss was excited for me; he hopes that I’ll find a nice college boy!

The lunch was bittersweet, but it was a nice end to my time with the company. I said a quick goodbye to my old work crush (nothing dramatic), and I was off to school for an afternoon discussion section. And that was it.

I took time off from studyinig on Saturday to go to the LA County Fair with some friends (one of my best friends from high school and my best friend from college). I had never been to a fair before, and this was a great introduction. It was so much fun! I went on the ferris wheel, pet sheep and goats, slid down a huge slide (riding on a potato sack), and tasted five different wines. I had a foot-long corn dog for lunch, shared a blooming onion for snack, and split a fried twinkie, fried snickers, and fried oreo for dinner. Yum. The fried snickers was the best. I’d go back to the fair just for that!

Leave a Reply

