The Same Friend I Knew

Things have been getting increasingly stressful at work. My boss and my big boss (the president of the company) were hounding me all last week about collecting past due invoices. With the economic downturn, money is getting very tight, so I understand that we need to be more vigilant in collecting on invoices before they are too old to collect, but there are better ways to communicate with me that don’t make me feel incompetent.

If my relationship with my boss was better (like it used to be), I wouldn’t necessarily mind the extra push they’re giving me. But with the way things are, any interaction with either my boss or my big boss makes me feel like all the work I do is meaningless and the handful of mistakes I make define my performance. My stress level was getting so high that I felt like I would be either fired or laid off at the end of the week (but I wasn’t). I think the breaking point is coming.

Fortunately, my weekend was pretty good. I spent all of Saturday with my brother and my best friend from elementary school (who I hadn’t seen in 15 years). We ate dim sum with my parents, watched Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen (awesome), played video games on the Wii, and spent hours chatting about pretty much everything.

In many ways, it felt like nothing had changed. I don’t remember too many details about when we used to hang out, but there were certain mannerisms and aspects of my friend’s personality that reminded me of the friend I knew so many years ago. I thought, yes, this is the same guy. It was great.

Posted in Friends, Job. 1 Comment »

One Response to “The Same Friend I Knew”

  1. Jonathan Says:

    Aww that’s so cute. 🙂


Leave a Reply

