Perspective

I spent a good portion of the morning talking to my long lost best friend from elementary school on Yahoo! Messenger (the one embedded in the email). It was absolutely surreal and amazing to catch up with him.

His life experiences are quite different from mine. He has traveled to many different countries and broken out of a conventional 9-to-5 working lifestyle. He’s doing what he loves and doesn’t worry about where life takes him.

I envy him in many ways, but he said that it’s all about perspective. Even though I envy his worldly travels and somewhat flexible schedule, he admires my educational background and (current) financial stability. I think there’s a lot I can learn from him.

I love that we turned out so differently yet can still connect the way good friends do, even though it’s been 15 years since I’ve seen him. It was surprisingly easy. We chatted on Yahoo! Messenger for over two hours already, but we decided we will talk over Skype tonight too (although I really hate webcams).

The dating/relationship issue hasn’t come up yet, so I still haven’t told him that I’m gay. He’ll probably be okay with it, but it’s always weird to tell childhood friends, especially after so many years with no contact. I would prefer to tell him through instant messaging (because I’m a chicken), but I have a feeling it might come up during a videoconference.

I know telling him shouldn’t be a big deal, but it still feels like it is. The fear of coming out never seems to end.

2 Responses to “Perspective”

  1. Jonathan Says:

    I hope you will videoconference with me some time. You can tell me you’re gay… I’m ok with it. 😛

  2. normalboy Says:

    We talked for a couple hours last night, partly on Skype and partly over the phone, but I still haven’t told him yet. It just never came up!

    I wonder how long I can use the “it never came up” excuse…


Leave a Reply

