Six More People

At the end of the day on Friday, six more people at my company were laid off. Now most departments only have one manager and one worker (accounting still has one manager and two workers, including me). If sales and/or the economy get any worse, there won’t be a company left at all.

Now, more than ever, is the time to finally motivate myself to look ahead. I always decide to do something productive but never get around to doing anything. I’m so afraid to take risks and make mistakes that I just have ideas but never take steps to realize them.

I can’t keep waiting. At the rate things are going, I may not have a job much longer. How do I motivate myself when I know I’m not good at self-motivation?

Posted in Job, Me. Tags: , , . 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Six More People”

  1. Jonathan Says:

    I was hoping this post was going to be “six more people following me on twitter”…

    I’m so afraid to take risks and make mistakes that I just have ideas but never take steps to realize them.

    That’s exactly how I used to feel. It’s so scary to make your best effort because if it doesn’t work out then you have to face the fact that you really do suck that much.

    But you only live one time so you might as well go for it. Stop caring what anyone thinks. Testosterone helps.

    What do you want life to be like 10 years from now? The same as now except you’re older? Talk to someone in their fifties. They will say something like, “I feel like I was your age just yesterday, I don’t know where the time went…” Is that what you want?

    Figure out where you want to be in the future and break it down into small steps. It doesn’t hurt to make a to-do list for yourself for each day. Make it very small and reasonable. One step closer to your goal. Do want you want now because you only live once and it goes by fast.

    • Amy Says:

      I second the “to-do” list. It sucks to shop around for jobs, but it’s better to do it now. Best time to find a job is when you have a job….. I may also be jobless soon, but I’ve rewritten my resume and cover letter, and I have a portfolio ready to send out…. Good luck sweetheart!


Leave a Reply

