Dear Work Crush

Dear Work Crush,

I miss you. I miss talking to you after work. We used to have dinner together and you’d tell me about your day. We used to talk for hours sometimes. But now you always leave earlier. You leave in a rush, and you never stay for dinner anymore. I’ve seen you a total of ten minutes all week. Even when I tried to talk to you last night, you didn’t tell me anything. I hate not knowing what’s going on.

Lately I don’t even feel like I’m your friend anymore. I’m just a coworker to you. Maybe this is how “work friends” are supposed to act. You don’t have to tell me about your life outside of work. You don’t have to be my friend if you don’t want to. I just thought that we had a pretty good friendship going. And not just because I have a crush on you.

I still stay late at work. I used to stay after hours solely so I had a chance to talk to you when you weren’t stressing out about the day. You’re different during the day. Now I stay even after you leave, wondering what I’m still doing there. Yes, I like my job now, but part of the  reason of staying behind was always to spend some time with you. The few times I’ve been on Saturdays were mostly to see you.

I’m obviously expecting too much from you. You’re constantly in the back of my mind. Any time I see (your car model) on the road, I think of you. When I pull into our parking lot in the mornings and see your car, I think of you. Whenever I walk around the building, I hope that I’ll see you. But I know you don’t think the same way. Of course not. I know. I get it.

I’m obsessed and irrational, but I needed to get this out. My heart has been getting that familiar sinking feeling all the time lately. Maybe this will help. I clearly need to move on. This crush has gone on far too long.

If I can’t be honest here, where can I be?

Posted in Boys, Friends. Tags: . 1 Comment »