The Touch

For at least six months now, I’ve been looking into finding a convenient way to access the internet from anywhere. My laptop is handy, but it’s too big to carry everywhere. I thought about getting a netbook for a long time, but in the end I decided that netbooks are still not convenient enough (but they’re incredibly cute). I have a PSP, but the web browser is a bit clumsy and cumbersome to use.

A few weeks ago, my work crush let me borrow his iPod touch to play with. After about a half hour of fiddling with it, I knew I found the device I’ve been looking for. The iPod touch has full internet (well, almost) and email access with an easy interface, as well as plenty of time-wasting applications like YouTube and Facebook. I’ve been obsessing about it ever since, but I kept stopping myself from splurging. Until now.

I was talking online to one of my insanely Mac-obsessed friends from graduate school today. He has had an iPod touch for quite some time already, so he told me all about the pros, cons, and limitations of it. It didn’t take much convincing for me to finalize my decision.

I bought the 16GB (second generation) model, and I’m in love with it. It’s so pretty! I’ve been tinkering with it all evening. I haven’t found the perfect case for it yet, so I won’t be taking it with me to work yet. Once I do find a case, though, I plan on taking it everywhere.

Hooray for a new toy!