Pink And Gold

Tomorrow is the eight year anniversary of the day I first came out. Usually on the day, my energy is just a little higher, I smile to myself a little more, and I try to celebrate in some small way. My uncle’s annual gathering to remember his late wife (my aunt) coincides with my anniversary this year, so I won’t be able to do anything particularly fun or gay tomorrow. Thus, I decided to have my small celebration today.

Continuing a tradition I started last year, I bought the very pink (very gay) venti passion tea lemonade (unsweetened of course) from Starbucks during my lunch hour. I only told two work friends about my anniversary: the (girl) friend I go to lunch with every day and my work crush. It was important for me to tell my two closest friends at work about it. They both were happy for me.

My lunch friend convinced me to spoil myself a little bit because it’s my anniversary, so I finally gave in and bought myself a Starbucks Gold card. For those outside the US, the Starbucks Gold card gives 10% off of all drinks and (regularly priced) merchandise. I’d been wanting one ever since they were first introduced late last year, but I felt I could never justify the $25 annual fee. I’m going to keep a log of how much I save by using this card, and we’ll see if it’s actually worth it. But in the meantime, I love getting new cards. I feel special.

Leave a Reply

