Rusty Tutoring

I tutored one of my friends from Target tonight. Often when I saw him during my frequent visits to Target, he would tell me about what math class he was taking at the time, and I offered to help in any math class he took. He finally took me up on my offer.

My friend is taking a probability course at a nearby community college. Actually, I never formally took probability in college or graduate school; the only time I studied probability was in preparation for the first actuary exam. And the Starbucks where my friend and I met up tonight is the same one that I went to every day for four months to learn probability. Interesting, huh?

Even though I haven’t really looked at that material since December 2007, I picked it up again in about a minute (math rocks). It’s been a long time since I tutored anyone, so I felt a bit rusty and wasn’t sure if I was explaining things properly. At the end of the night, though, my friend told me that I helped him out a lot and that I was really good at tutoring. He’s had other tutors before, but he felt like I was a professional. I don’t know if I’m as good as he says I am (I always think of better ways to say something after the fact), but it’s nice to hear.

Posted in Friends, Me. 3 Comments »

3 Responses to “Rusty Tutoring”

  1. Jonathan Says:

    I’m impressed! Being a great teacher takes great skill. I hope you find some time each day to pursue your future goals. This week I’ve been terrible about it… I haven’t practiced my guitar, though being a performer is my big dream. Next week I’ll be back on track.

  2. amy Says:

    did you charge him? professionals charge

  3. normalboy Says:

    Yes. He didn’t have his wallet at the time, but he will pay me.


Leave a Reply

