New Again

My sales replacement is learning, but the progress seems slow. There is a lot to learn, so I’m not sure what is the best way to impart my knowledge. The president of the company seems anxious for me to switch to the accounting department (I think he has high hopes that I can relieve some duties from the operations manager who is handling most of the accounting department herself), but I feel like there’s a long way to go before that can happen. I guess we’ll see what happens in the next couple weeks.

In addition to my replacement, my boss/friend hired three other new salespeople (he’s really pushing to expand his sales team quickly). Since I’m the only “old” salesperson at the company who knows pretty much everything about our company’s products and processes, my friend/boss sometimes asks me to help train the new people. It makes me feel like I’m second in command (which is a great feeling).

Of course, when I move to accounting, I’m going to be at the bottom of the food chain again. I’m going to be the new person who doesn’t know anything (except that I’ll already be somewhat familiar with some of our internal procedures). It will be interesting to be on the other side of the fence again.

Posted in Job. Tags: . Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

