Forced Exercise

In an effort to get started on my New Year’s resolutions, I went to the gym over the weekend. As I expected, I wasn’t very into it. I did a little strength training, a little ab work, and then spent 20 minutes on an elliptical trainer.

I used to be really into working out. I would go four times a week and always try to beat my own record for how long I could stay on the elliptical trainer. This time, the 20 minutes I did felt forced and ultimately unproductive.

I’m pretty sure exercising at the gym is the kind of activity that is hard to get going, but once you get into it, you wonder how you did without it. Actually, many things are like that for me, such as watching Heroes, blogging, or eating sushi. Some things are linked with my fear of change and/or fear of trying new things, but that can of worms is for another day.

Anyway. I don’t know if there’s an easy way to get back into exercising, beyond regularly forcing myself to go to the gym. It’s so easy to fall into the trap of making excuses to not go (like getting home from work around 9pm, which is what I did today), but I shouldn’t make excuses every day.

Why does self-improvement have to be so difficult?

Posted in Gym, Me. Tags: , . 1 Comment »

One Response to “Forced Exercise”

  1. allstarme Says:

    I used to go to the gym 6 days a week and I had this one big goal to achieve. Once there, it was so tough to keep going to maintain. I think maybe you need to set another goal.

    Oh and btw, new to your blog. Hi!


Leave a Reply

