Resolution Retrospective

Because Amy asked so nicely, I’m going to put up my list of New Year’s resolutions. First things first, I’m going to review over last year’s resolutions.

1. I would like to take more pictures with my digital camera. I never feel like I’m taking enough pictures, and I’m not taking every opportunity to improve my picture-taking skills.

Over the last year, I’ve taken at least 1000 pictures with my digital camera. That seems like an acceptable number, but I still don’t feel like I’ve improved my picture-taking skills. Maybe I’m expecting too much; it’s not like I’m a professional photographer. I’m going to say that I kept my resolution.

2. Along the same lines as my first resolution, I would like to print out some of my favorite digital pictures and make a photo album (or three). Maybe I’m just old fashioned, but there’s something special about having a physical album to look through rather than just viewing the pictures on a computer.

Where did the time go? I honestly didn’t take any steps toward keeping this resolution. I bought a photo/negative scanner so that I can archive my old family photos, but I haven’t printed any yet. I also haven’t even scanned nearly as many pictures as I would have hoped by now.

3. I’ve always had a problem with time management. There are days when I have lots of important things to do and yet I will put them off for no good reason and complain about being bored. I get into a rut and I stay there, even when I know that I should be more productive. I sound like any procrastinator, but it bugs me a lot. I would like to be more productive with my time. I think that’s part of why I like working at Target so much; I always feel productive while I’m working.

I haven’t really changed much at all in this respect. My days are certainly productive now that I have a full time job, but I still waste a lot of my time off. I guess “productive” and “waste of time” should be more well defined for me to really evaluate this. But I maintain that watching all three seasons of Heroes in one week (I finished the third one last night around 3am) shouldn’t be considered a complete waste. What an amazing show.

4. Having moved away for college and graduate school, I have friends in many different places, but I don’t keep in touch with them as much as I would like. I’m really bad at replying to emails, even when I truly mean to. I was talking to a friend online tonight who still thought I was living in Canada, even though I moved back home six months ago. I would like to be better at keeping in touch with my friends and update them more often with what’s going on in my life.

Yeah, I’m exactly like everyone else; I don’t keep my resolutions. I’ve somewhat kept up with updating my friends on what I’m doing, but I still fall into the trap of being reclusive and not replying to emails in a timely manner. I owe one of my old friends from graduate school an email; I’ve kept a note to do it for at least two months.

5. I often feel isolated from the straight community by being gay and from the gay community by not having gay friends and not really knowing how to “be gay.” I would like to make more gay friends. I think having friends who see the world in a similar way would help me in understanding and accepting myself.

This one is interesting. My boss/friend is gay, and one of my college friends came out this year, so I guess I do have more gay friends now than I did a year ago, even though I didn’t make any “new” gay friends. My gay friends don’t see the world the same way I do, but I don’t really see myself as an outsider as much these days. Most of the time, I don’t even think about how normal or not normal I am. I’m just me.

So, it looks like I roughly accomplished two of my five resolutions from last year. I’d say that’s pretty good, considering I never used to make resolutions. Now, for this year’s resolutions:

1. I want to be more conservative with my money. Since I started working full time, I’ve been better about not wasting as much money buying unnecessary knick-knacks, but there are other ways I can cut corners as well. With my impending move to the accounting department (and the dramatic pay cut that goes with it), I’m going to need to save even more than before. No more 4 dollar mochas from Starbucks for a while.

2. My house is full of boxes from when I moved back from both college and graduate school. The amount of stuff I’ve kept over the years is overwhelming. I need to sit down and sort through everything, getting rid of items I don’t need and organizing (and maintaining) the things I keep in a neat and orderly manner. This task is long overdue.

3. Since I started my current job seven months ago, I’ve gained about ten pounds. I’ve been to the gym at most three times. I’m still at a very ideal weight, and I try to limit my intake of unhealthy foods, but I definitely don’t feel as healthy as I’d like to be. I would like to either go back to the gym on a regular basis or figure out a way to exercise regularly so that I can feel healthier and not have to worry about gaining all my weight back.

4. While I started The Great Photo Project a while ago, there is a long way to go. My brother is pushing me to continue as well. I started strong, but I lost motivation and it started to feel more like a chore than a hobby. I would like to keep up my motivation and make a lot of progress with this project. I think the end result is important and will outweigh any temporary frustrations I have with the project.

I think four resolutions is okay for now. I’m sure focusing on these will be difficult enough. I’d still like to continue working on last year’s resolutions too, so I have a lot of work to do. There are other work/job/career related things I’d like to accomplish as well, but I’m waiting to see how the accounting position pans out first.

Happy 2009 everyone! Less than three weeks until George W. Bush is no longer the President!

Posted in Me. Tags: , . 1 Comment »

One Response to “Resolution Retrospective”

  1. Jonathan Says:

    “I would like to print out some of my favorite digital pictures”

    Walgreens does really cool collage posters. You can’t control the layout, but you can refresh it as many times as you want. If you want to throw something together quickly, it’s great! If every phone you pick is a winner, the arrangement doesn’t much matter. One I made is linked as my website in this post. http://photo.walgreens.com/

    “I’ve always had a problem with time management.”

    Your problem isn’t time management. Your problem is not knowing what you want to do with your life. Once you have a dream to follow, you’ll miraculously become productive as you pursue it. 🙂

    “No more 4 dollar mochas from Starbucks for a while.”

    Hey, everything in moderation. Once in a while anything is fine. Cold turkey rarely works for most people.

    “My house is full of boxes from when I moved back from both college and graduate school.”

    One box at a time. Or even just pull out one item per day, and find a place for it or toss (donate, etc). By 2009 that’d be 365 items. That’s a lot of shiat.

    Good luck and Happy New Year! 🙂


Leave a Reply

