An Opening

Work today was business as usual, until my daily after-work meeting with my boss. After we finished discussing our regular topics, my boss told me that there is an opening in our accounting department and that I can take the job if I want it. Even though my boss prefers that I stay in sales, and he says I’m doing a good job, he also knows that I’m constantly stressed and frustrated by sales. He’s willing to let me go if accounting is what I would rather do.

The funny thing is, I had asked my boss multiple times over the last few months whether there was an opening in accounting. He always said no, and even if there was, he wouldn’t let me go (he relies on me, he thinks I can do well in sales, etc.). I always wanted to move to accounting (I think I’m better suited for it), but now that I have the opportunity, I don’t know if I want to take it.

The main (and possibly most important) reason I’m hesitant is the money. Since my pay structure is currently based on commission, my pay will almost certainly go down if I move to accounting. The pay is fixed, so there is no “unlimited potential” the way there is in sales. When I do my current job, I try not to think about money and how much I’m going to make in commission. But when there’s a chance that I won’t get as much money anymore, I have to really take it into consideration. After all, how am I going to live on my own and be financially indepedent (from my parents) if I don’t make enough to do so?

On the other hand, it sounds like the accounting department really needs someone who is technical, detail oriented, and reliable. All the managers think that I would do very well at the accounting job (it’s more like basic accounting/bookeeping than actual CPA type of accounting, so they’re also afraid I’ll end up being bored too). The operations manager (who supervises the accounting department right now) has been looking for a qualified person to fill the position for a while now, but she hasn’t found anyone suitable. I suppose that’s why they’re offering me the job.

In thinking about the best interest of the company, I think I should take the accounting offer. I think I have the skills to really help out my company and fix the problems with our accounting department. I also think that stepping down from sales will give someone more qualified for sales to take my place, thereby also benefitting the company from the sales department perspective as well. However, is doing what’s best for the company what’s best for me?

4 Responses to “An Opening”

  1. Amy Says:

    Do what’s right for you – the company will survive. How much money are we talking? I think accounting might be a good fit for you. I don’t think you love sales, and maybe you won’t love accounting, but it’s worth a shot.

  2. Lisa Says:

    Hmmm. I really feel like you should take the accounting job. Maybe it’s because you’re using the blog as a stress release, but I feel a lot of stress is on your shoulders in this job, and I feel like that’s largely because sales might not be the best fit for you.

    Money is important, sure. And if you decide to pursue accounting as a career, the money will most certainly come. I have a friend who’s an accountant… he just turned 30, he’s the single earner for his family, and they just bought and totally renovated a house in CT — where the cost of living isn’t much different than your neck of the woods. And he’s not the type to do something like that on credit. If you are successful in accounting, and can get your CPA, your earning potential is really great. It may be a long time before you can be ‘on your own’ in a financial sense… but in the shorter term, that’s what having a roommate is for. Fresh out of grad school, I was able to buy a house… but I never would have been able to afford that move had I not been married to someone who was making as much money as I was.

    If you see the accounting job as an opportunity for growth and learning, then go for it. It’s also a much more positive step toward getting an actuarial job, if that’s what you’re still interested in.

  3. Jonathan Says:

    Take the accounting job. It’s more of your kind of thing. It’ll be boring… you’ll be ok though. Not so stressful. 🙂

    Money isn’t important.

  4. Amy Says:

    Money IS important. But your sanity and health is more important – trust me, stress weakens the immune system and makes you more prone to all sorts of problems.


Leave a Reply

