The Great Photo Project

My brother and I have been trying to find a way to digitize all of our family’s old photos (pre-digital age). With paper being so easily ruined by sun, moisture, heat, etc., we figure that keeping a digital copy will help ensure that we never lose our childhood memories.

After a long time of trying to figure out what is the best method of digitizing our pictures, we settled on trying out the Canon CanoScan 8800F, a mostly typical flatbed scanner with the added feature of being able to scan negatives as well.

The scanner is bulky (much bulkier than I was expecting), but it seems to work quite well. There is a digital dust removal setting that is very handy; I scanned the same picture with and without the dust removal setting, and there is a world of difference between them.

The last few days, I’ve been tinkering with different settings and resolutions. I had a lot of fun rummaging through old photos to find some good test pictures. Oh, the memories. Now that I am familiar with how the scanner works and have an idea of what resolution I want, I think I’m ready to start scanning all of my family’s pictures from the beginning (probably from when my brother was born).

I think I finally have a hobby!

2 Responses to “The Great Photo Project”

  1. Amy Says:

    The fun part lies not in the scanning, but in the organizing! Now that you have a lot of digital prints, you need a good way to label and sort your photos. I recommend Adobe Photoshop Photoalbum. It lets you tag photos with labels for each person, event, place, object, etc. You can change the date, which is crucial for scanned in photos (as you don’t want them all to be 2008!). I did lots of research before settling on it. And if you order now, I’ll throw in a free tutorial on my computer…

  2. Resolution Retrospective « Normal Boy Says:

    […] While I started The Great Photo Project a while ago, there is a long way to go. My brother is pushing me to continue as well. I started […]


Leave a Reply

