Friends Filled Weekend

What a busy weekend! I somehow had something planned every day (starting Friday night), each with different groups of friends.

On Friday, I left work a little early to meet up with some college friends for a birthday gathering. To celebrate, we went to the Hollywood Bowl to see Brian Wilson (of The Beach Boys). I’ve heard some Beach Boys songs before, but I don’t know them that well. The concert was okay, mostly an excuse for me to hang out with my friends. I also had never been to the Hollywood Bowl, so it was nice to actually do something distinctly “LA.”

I probably would have thought more of the concert had I not been so tired. I was half-falling asleep the whole concert, only really waking up during intermission and for the fireworks at the end. Oh well, at least I got to see my friends.

Yesterday, one of my college friends took me out shopping to buy me a birthday gift. He insisted that he get me something, I guess because I make it a point to get him something for his birthday every year. After a lot of indecisive wandering, I eventually chose to have him buy me the second season of Ugly Betty on DVD. I stopped watching around when the writer’s strike happened, and I never caught up after that. I can finally catch up! Yay!

After shopping and hanging out with my college friend for the day, he dropped me off at a nearby restaurant because I had a birthday dinner to go to for one of my high school friends. It was fun, and my friend’s (chocolate) birthday cake was really good.

Today, I got up early (earlier than I’d prefer on a Sunday) to visit one of my graduate school friends who was in LA for a wedding. It’s been almost a year since I’d seen anyone from my graduate school crowd, so it was really great to catch up with him, even though we only hung out for a few hours. I had to drive an hour (changing freeways three times) to get to his hotel, but how could I not visit him? It was totally worth it.

All in all, it turned out to be a pretty good weekend. The only downside to having such a full weekend is that I’m exhausted now, perhaps more than on days when I work. Starting the work week tomorrow is going to be especially challenging.

Leave a Reply

