Our Last Summer

My brother is going back to medical school tonight. He’s taking a red-eye flight so that he doesn’t miss a day here or a day there. From what he’s told me, only first year medical students get a summer break. That means this summer was his last summer. Now that I’m an “adult” and I have a job (with no summer breaks), his being at home felt like my last summer too.

At first, I was a little annoyed by my brother being back for the summer. He got in the way of my normal routine, which really only consisted of visiting Target and surfing the internet. But after a while, I started to have fun with him again, like we used to when we were growing up.

Now that he’s going back to school, I feel like I don’t know what I’m going to do with my nights after work. I’m going to miss my brother bothering me to do something with him.

Leave a Reply

