Less Anxious Friday

This week went a lot better than I thought it would. First, my friend/boss was away on business for a couple days. Not feeling like he’s constantly watching over me relieved a lot of stress. Even after he returned, I haven’t been as anxious as I used to be. I’ve become more comfortable with my responsibilities, and I finally feel like I know what I’m doing (for the most part). I do still get a little anxious in the mornings, but it usually passes by lunchtime.

In other news, my friend in actuary said his company might be hiring in the next couple months, so he told me to send him my resume. It feels a little weird for me to be looking for a job while I’m still new at my current job, but I suppose I should be looking into opportunities whenever they come. After all, you can’t plan when life throws opportunities at you, right?

The biggest advice my friend in actuary gave me was to take the second exam in November rather than waiting until next year. With how much time and energy my job takes right now, I’m not sure if I will be prepared to take the exam by then (it’s early in the month this year). Even if I pass the exam, it will have been a year since I passed the first exam; I wonder how that looks to employers.

Anyway. I have more immediate things to deal with. I’m taking a weekend trip up to the Bay Area with my brother. Actually, he’s going to stay up there for most of the week, but I’m flying back on Sunday so I don’t miss any work. It should be fun, but I’m getting tired just thinking about it. Maybe I should plan my weekends to be less tiring than the work week.

One Response to “Less Anxious Friday”

  1. Lisa Says:

    It seems to be fairly par for the course that people don’t always pass an exam on the first attempt. I think it was the fourth exam, my hubby took 4 or 5 attempts to pass it. They will either think you perhaps didn’t pass the first time, or will realize that maybe you needed to earn yourself a bit of a living and put off the second exam.

    Keep on keeping on…. and most actuaries study while they have full-time jobs and manage to pass exams, even if not always on the first attempt. You can get prepared enough to pass!


Leave a Reply

