High Hopes

Most days after work, my friend/boss will sit me down and see how I’m doing. Sometimes it’s just a simple status report on what I’m working on, but sometimes, like today, it’s more of a developmental meeting.

My friend/boss has high hopes for me. He wants me to have more responsibilities, make more decisions, and move beyond my current capacity. He’s always looking for ways to help me grow and learn so that this job can be a valuable opportunity for me.

It’s great that my friend/boss has my best interests in mind, but I’m constantly afraid that I’m not going to do well at what he asks of me. I sometimes already feel overwhelmed by the work I do now, not because it’s difficult but because of the sheer amount that needs to be done. Having responsibilities which require deeper thinking will require even more time and energy, and I’m not sure if I can handle it.

Honestly, the biggest hindrance to my development is my confidence in myself. I often feel anxious and nervous when I think about the various things my friend/boss wants me to do, but I know that I would regret declining the chance.

Even though I’m incredibly hesitant to move forward (being comfortable where I am is safe), I’m still choosing to take on more responsibilities. I know this will be good for me in the long run.

Posted in Job, Me. Tags: , , . 1 Comment »

One Response to “High Hopes”

  1. A New Offer « Normal Boy Says:

    […] a lot of what my friend/boss needs. Recently, my friend/boss sat me down and told me that he has high hopes for me. He feels that I can do more than what I am doing. So today, he sat me down again and gave […]


Leave a Reply

