Lacking Privacy

I’ve never really cared that much about having privacy. When I shared an apartment in college, my room was the dining room/breakfast nook that you entered as you walked in the front door; I shared a wall with the kitchen. My roommates would basically be in my room if they wanted to come in, leave, or get a bite to eat.

Maybe it was different because I was living with my friends, but I really didn’t care at all that I had zero privacy. From there, I went on to graduate school, where I had my own apartment and all the privacy I could hope for. After I graduated and moved back home, I lost all my privacy again, but this time I do care.

Even though I don’t ever go out without telling my parents what I’m doing, they mostly do their own thing and I do my thing. That usually gives me time to sit in front of my computer and try to think of a good topic for this blog.

Now that my brother is home for the summer, though, I really don’t have any time to myself. I work all day, and then at night my brother wants to make the most out of every waking minute. While I do like watching multiple episodes of Scrubs every night, I don’t get a chance to do what I want until I’m about ready to fall asleep on the couch.

I guess what bothers me most is that I don’t have the time or privacy to write for this blog until I’m too tired to write. I love that my brother is home, but at some point, I just want to be alone.

Leave a Reply

