Carpal Tunnel Syndrome

I found out recently that my friend/boss has early stages of carpal tunnel syndrome. Today he wore wrist braces while he worked so that he doesn’t make it worse.

I’m really scared I’m going to get it too. No, I don’t think it’s contagious. Since I have an office job now, I sit in front of a computer screen all day typing and using a mouse. If I’m not careful, I could end up hurting my wrists too.

Every so often throughout the day, I shook my wrists out and did some hand exercises. When I started to notice that my wrists were resting on the keyboard while I typed, or if my wrist was angled when I used my mouse, I stopped and readjusted myself in my seat and brought myself back to a proper position.

I might be overdoing the caution at this point (who worries about carpal tunnel syndrome after two weeks?), but building a good routine in the beginning is easier than breaking bad habits later. I need to get one of those gel wrist rests for my keyboard and mouse so that I can further prevent wrist problems.

One Response to “Carpal Tunnel Syndrome”

  1. Amy Says:

    I have a repetitive stress injury in my right arm from years of not using a mouse with my laptop…. Figure out now how to avoid it! I now get shooting pains from my shoulder through my thumb after 10 minutes on a computer….


Leave a Reply

