My Own Cubicle

I got my own cubicle today, complete with a desk and a computer. I don’t think I’m going to personalize my space at all, though, since all I use is the computer. The desk drawers are still full of random papers from the last person who had the desk before me.

Actually, my whole cubicle was initially full of dusty boxes, papers, and hard drives. I had to drag everything out so that the rest of the employees can sift through to see if anything is important. I wonder how long all the stuff will stay there.

I got a bit more training, but my friend/boss mostly had me practice doing some of the things he showed me yesterday (now that I had my own computer and desk). I was really slow at some of the tasks, mostly because I was triple checking (at least) so that I didn’t make any mistakes. My friend/boss had to do some things for me because I was taking too long. Part of the lag wasn’t actually my fault, but I still felt bad that I wasn’t as fast as he wanted me to be (yet). He said it was okay, though.

I also had to make a spreadsheet in Excel today. I tried to organize the information clearly in a way that made sense to me, but I’m not sure how it turned out. When I left today, I gave it to my friend/boss, and he said he’d look at it and make changes. I’m not sure if that means I did good or bad.

Besides training me, my friend/boss is also training someone else. A new intern came today, and he happens to be my friend/boss’s boyfriend. I don’t think it’s a big deal, since my friend/boss is very professional at work. If you didn’t already know they were together, you wouldn’t notice anything out of the ordinary.

I felt pretty tired toward the middle of the afternoon. I almost started closing my eyes at some point while trying to make my spreadsheet. Trying to double check through details was very difficult. I felt a little tired yesterday around that time, too, so I’m not sure how to avoid being tired. Hopefully I’ll find a solution soon before my friend/boss loads me up with even more work.

As I was driving home after work, I felt compelled to visit Target, so I did. My friends were really happy to see me, and everyone commented on how nice I looked in my dress shirt and slacks. Even though I’ve only been with my new company for two days, I felt like working at Target was a long time ago.

Anyway. I’m exhausted now. I don’t know how most grown ups can work regular jobs and still have energy to do other things. I don’t get how my parents can still function when they get home. It’s taking a lot of energy just to write this post. I might have to just crash for the night right after this.

Posted in Friends, Job. Tags: , . 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “My Own Cubicle”

  1. Amy Says:

    It gets better… Just like standing for 8 hours at target was exhausting at first. You get used to the hours. Also: coffee breaks!

  2. tb Says:

    How exciting. You’ll do great.


Leave a Reply

