An Excellent Brain

I’m getting really close to quitting my job at Target. My move to the price change team doesn’t seem to be happening any time soon, and my current position isn’t conducive to properly studying for the actuarial exams. I come home late and tired, so all I want to do at night is relax.

It seems risky, though, to quit (especially during the current economic situation) in the hopes that I pass the second exam in November. The second exam isn’t even a guarantee of getting a job, either. I may not even get an actuarial job until after I pass the third exam, which would be in May of next year at the earliest.

Even if I have no future at Target, doesn’t having the job have some amount of value? Doesn’t the job demonstrate the ability deal with difficult people and work in a team environment? My dad seems to think that none of the skills I’m using/gaining at Target are useful or transferable to the actuary field because actuary uses professional skills and retail is non-professional, but I disagree.

Basically, I don’t know if it’s a good move to quit my job to focus on studying. I think that my job at Target has its redeeming qualities, and I don’t know if I’m willing to be unemployed for a year before my career has a chance of starting.

Most of this post stems from a conversation I had with my dad tonight. We were discussing what jobs I could do, and he always came back to the actuary field as the best option. The pay is good, I can use my background, and I don’t need additional schooling. I’m a little skeptical in my abilities to pass the exams, but my dad said he has faith that I can do it. I have “an excellent brain.” I just have to use it.

Posted in Family, Job, Me. Tags: , , . 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “An Excellent Brain”

  1. Lisa Says:

    I think there is merit in staying at Target. Any job > no job. Maybe the stuff you’re picking up at Target isn’t going to get you a CEO job, but you’re picking SOMETHING up… even if it’s only learning about yourself.

    However, perhaps you need to lay out the situation to your supervisor, or whoever makes the schedule. You want to keep the job, you like working there, but you have other things on your plate and you can no longer work the closing shift and/or work as many days as you’ve been working. If they want to keep you around, they should be willing to work with you to retain you longer.

  2. Amy Says:

    What about looking for other jobs, while keeping this job? Office work? Maybe something with more regular hours. Also, I agree with your dad that Target may not be your future, but it sounds like you’re picking actuary because you think it fits your credentials, not because it fits you. If there is one thing I know, it’s that following a future because it’s what your family wants won’t necessarily lead to happiness.


Leave a Reply

