All About Me Meme

Lisa from Ramblings of a pseudo intellectual tagged me for another meme! Thanks Lisa! I really enjoy all the interaction we have, as virtual as it is. I take all of your advice to heart (and actually, I would love to discuss job interviews more with you). Anyway, on to the tag.

The rules of this tag:
A: The rules are posted at the beginning
B: Answer the questions about yourself
C: Tag 5 people, let them know in a comment on their blogs that they have been tagged.

What were you doing 10 yrs ago?
Ten years ago, I was 15 and in tenth grade. I had transferred high schools at the beginning of the school year. I took a performing arts class that gave me my first exposure to singing in front of other people. It was in that class that I found out my voice was good enough to join the high school choir the following school year. I also discovered that my falsetto was something special that I should keep and train. After that class, I was careful not to lose my falsetto and sang almost exclusively as a countertenor/soprano in college and graduate school.

My tenth grade English teacher was the first openly gay man I ever met. His classroom always smelled like freshly brewed coffee, and he sometimes played classical music during class. I liked to talk to him during lunch; he was a very interesting person. He was the faculty sponsor of the gay/lesbian/questioning club. He invited me to check it out (I must have shown curiosity, but I don’t remember), but I never got up the nerve to go. I didn’t come out until three years later.

I was a Christian then. I tried very hard to believe. I prayed that I wasn’t gay and that God would make me normal. I lived at home with my parents, and my brother was away for college. My parents and I visited my grandfather almost every week. I hung out and played video games with my friends.

Snacks I enjoy:

  • Cheez-Its and Goldfish crackers (they’re basically the same but in different shapes)
  • Lemon loaf
  • Pocky
  • Chocolate chip cookies
  • Donuts
  • Honestly, there are so many snacks that I enjoy, it would be insane to list them all.

Five things on my to-do list today:
Besides going to work today, I didn’t end up doing any of the things on my to-do list. So, this to-do list is also tomorrow’s list.

  • Deposit my paycheck in my checking account
  • Buy a conservative tie for my upcoming job interview(s)
  • Buy more undershirts for work
  • Talk to one of the ETLs about getting coached for my interview(s)
  • Go to work (Can you tell that everything revolves around work?)

Things I would do if I became a billionaire:
A billion dollars is a lot of money. I would certainly give a large portion to charities (maybe make Lake Chad a lake again), and then I would make sure my parents, brother, and sister were set for life. I would visit all of my distant friends, and I would travel all around the world. Most importantly, I would adopt a child (or more, if parenting goes well).

3 bad habits:

  • Going to sleep really late
  • Not waking up to my alarm
  • Procrastinating

5 places I have lived:

  • Los Angeles, California
  • Potsdam, New York
  • San Luis Obispo, California
  • Santa Cruz, California
  • Vancouver, British Columbia

Jobs I have had:

  • School Cafeteria Worker (when I was in fifth grade)
  • Teaching Assistant
  • Tutor
  • Research Assistant
  • Teacher
  • Sales Floor Team Member

Things people don’t know about me:

  • Ten years ago, I had an online friendship with a 15 year old boy who was gay. After a few years, I found out he was actually a middle aged man. But because of our initial friendship, I still try to keep in touch with him. We’ve never met.
  • The only time my parents ever grounded me was when I got a D in Calculus in high school. They forbade me from going to church.
  • I honestly have given up all hope of ever finding a boy who will love me.

I don’t know that many bloggers yet, so finding five people to tag is pretty difficult. I doubt some of these people will actually respond. Anyway, I tag:

This was fun!

Posted in Me. Tags: , . 8 Comments »

8 Responses to “All About Me Meme”

  1. Amy Says:

    I know no other bloggers… but I’ll try to answer 🙂

  2. Lisa Says:

    thanks normalboy! great fun to get to know you better!

    and hey, i tagged a blog of someone i’d never even read before, nothing bad about being bold. 🙂

  3. blackannisdoll Says:

    I did my part – go check it out…

  4. Kate Says:

    I wandered here via Lisa… and noticed “Potsdam, NY.” Sorry to meet another fellow sufferer, but glad to know you escaped, too. 😉 Ehh, it wasn’t that bad… most of the time. When were you there?

  5. normalboy Says:

    I was only in Potsdam, NY for a couple months during the summer of 2002. I liked it a lot, actually, but probably because I was only there a couple months. I’m sure I would’ve died from boredom if I stayed longer.

  6. Kate Says:

    Congratulations on a quick getaway… I did the full 4-year term. I may have died from boredom a few times and was apparently revived. Can I get an amen?

  7. jos76 Says:

    I was and still am a Christian (and, oh…I’m gay too!). Try out the UCC if you are interested.
    Jos76
    http://www.jos76.wordpress.com

  8. jos76 Says:

    I completed the tag. I am leaving for Paris this Friday and I will post my responses on my blog when I get back.
    Jos76
    http://www.jos76.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

