Interview Anxiety

My store team leader (STL) called me into his office today. He said he would send my resume over to a STL from a different Target in our district, and that STL will call me to set up a pre-screen interview, probably near the end of next week. If I make it through that interview, then I get to go through three more interviews before becoming an ETL.

I’m already starting to freak out, even though my first interview hasn’t even been set yet. So much weight is placed on the interviews, and I haven’t had much experience with interviews. My only real interviews were for my current job at Target, and those were very informal. I was applying on a lark anyway, so I didn’t think too much about the outcome. This time, I really want the job. The stakes are much higher.

One of my worst fears is being interviewed. I don’t think I make a very strong first impression, and I don’t see why anyone would hire me over other people. Luckily, one of the ETLs is going to coach me in interviewing. She really wants to help me become an ETL. I just hope we can turn me into an employable person by the end of next week.

Posted in Job, Me. Tags: , , . 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Interview Anxiety”

  1. jos76 Says:

    Coaching is a great thing to do. It is always good to benefit from those that have come before us and understand the workings of the system. Good luck!
    Jos76
    http://www.jos76.wordpress.com

  2. Lisa Says:

    Oooh ooh! I can help! In my previous life I worked in HR, and I can tell you stuff!

    1) Eye contact and a firm handshake are always good. Smile. Relax. Maintain a confident body posture (shoulders up, don’t cross your arms, don’t sit too far back in your chair).

    2) Make a point of saying that YOU REALLY WANT THE JOB. Not desperate-like, but that the position really interests you and you’re so excited about the opportunity.

    3) Don’t let yourself babble. Also, it’s OK to ask for a moment to think of an answer, especially to situational questions like “Tell me about a time you had to overcome adversity.”

    4) Be prepared with a couple questions of your own. Remember, interviews are not just for them to get to know you, it’s your opportunity to ask questions of the people doing the interviewing. Ask questions about the position even if you already think you know the answer.

    5) Follow up after the interview with a thank you note, thank them for taking the time to get to know you, say how you enjoyed their conversation and learning more about the position, and reiterate your interest in the position.

    Oh and I tagged you for another meme. 🙂 (FYI, “meme” means “same” in French. A “meme” thus means someone writing about the same topic. You’d expressed some uncertainty the last time I did this to you. 🙂 )


Leave a comment