I Didn’t Rinse Long Enough

My bathroom has two sinks (I share my room with my brother, when he’s home). Since my parents’ sink in their bathroom isn’t working properly, they brush their teeth in my bathroom. We usually brush our teeth at different times, but tonight my mom and I were brushing our teeth around the same time.

After I used my mouthwash, my mom commented that I didn’t rinse for the full 60 seconds that the bottle of mouthwash recommends. I was pretty surprised that she would make a comment like that. First of all, I’m 25. I know how to take care of my own teeth. I don’t need my mom to time me when I brush my teeth or rinse my mouth with mouthwash.

Second, there’s no clock in my bathroom. How does she know exactly how long a minute is? I estimate the time myself, and my teeth are in really good shape. I don’t see how I’m going to ruin my teeth because I rinsed my mouth for 45 seconds instead of a full minute.

This isn’t a big deal at all, but I thought the comment was absurd. It’s instances like this that make me feel like a kid, stunted from growing up (and not in the good way, like Peter Pan). I really shouldn’t be living at home anymore.

2 Responses to “I Didn’t Rinse Long Enough”

  1. jos76 Says:

    The sad thing is, even when you do move out parents still treat you like a kid. I once forgot my mother’s birthday when I was 12 or 13 and I still hear about. My mother still calls me to tell me that my grandmother’s birthday and is coming up and I should call her. You gotta love the guilt.
    Jos76
    http://www.jos76.wordpress.com

  2. Lisa Says:

    This totally sounds like something my mother in-law would say. And then my father in-law would go “Oh come on! How do you know how long a minute is?!”

    I believe the time-honored response to something like this is to say, “Um, OK, ” roll your eyes, and then make fun of your mom on a blog.


Leave a Reply

