Hanging Out Shouldn’t Be Exhausting

I’ve been planning all week with some of my college friends to meet up in my ncck of the woods (rather than me having to drive to see them). Since today was my day off from work, we decided everyone would gather at my place around 4:15pm and play it by ear after that.

 Yesterday, while I was hanging out with my friend’s girlfriend, a friend from high school called me. He’s been having a bad week and wanted to hang out with me on my day off. I told him I had plans with my college friends, and he asked what time. I said 4pm, so he figured that he could hang out with me from the morning until then.

I didn’t want to seem like a bad friend, so I said he could stay and hang out with all of us if he wanted to. My high school friends and college friends don’t mingle too often, but the groups have met before. I generally like to keep my circles of friends separate though.

My high school friend showed up at my house around 11am. He’s the same friend with whom I played Untold Legends: Dark Kingdom for twelve hours straight. So what did we do when he showed up today? We played the same game again, from 11am until my college friends showed up close to 5pm (there was traffic). Actually, we continued to play for another hour afterwards, but we chatted with my other friends at the same time.

Around 6pm or so, we finally turned off the game, and we all went to a nearby restaurant for dinner. The food was really good. We split a family meal consisting of a huge Greek salad, tri tip, pizza, and a lot of breadsticks. After dinner, we walked to Cold Stone Creamery for dessert. I’m not sure why we had ice cream on a cold, windy night in winter, but it was still good.

When we got back to my place, we watched About A Boy, one of my favorite movies of all time. My college friends left soon after the movie ended, but my high school friend stayed so we could continue playing Untold Legends: Dark Kingdom. Again. We played for a few more hours until I finally had to call it quits. I was exhausted, and my eyes were hurting.

I understand that my high school friend had a bad week. I understand that he wants to spend time with me on my day off. But when we hang out, we keep playing the same game for hours on end. We always continue playing until I’m completely wiped out. My day off becomes much more tiring than my work days. If I had hung out with only my college friends, it would have been a simple, relaxing evening.

I’m not saying that I didn’t have fun or that I didn’t like spending time with my high school friend. But we really need to work on moderation.

Leave a Reply

