Waisting Away

A couple of the ETLs at Target recommended that I dress a little more professionally on the job so that I stand out to the other ETLs and to the store team leader. Apparently, the store team leader is big on little details, like wearing nice shoes and a collared shirt.

Trying to make every attempt to seem more employable, I went shopping for new khakis. I did already have khakis, but because I’ve lost a lot of weight since I started working at Target, my khakis were sagging quite a bit.

I found a good pair of khakis at the Gap, but I was really surprised when I found out my new waist size. In 2005, I had a 34 inch waist. In 2006, I started exercising and eating properly and dropped down to a 32 by May of that year. I stayed a 32 (with my skinny jeans being a 31) until this year. I thought I went down a 30, but the khakis I bought are a 29! Not only that, but there’s a little room!

In the fitting room, I couldn’t believe I was wearing khakis with a 29 waist. I even tried on a pair with a 28 waist, which fit but was too perfect. I haven’t had a 29 inch waist since I was fifteen! It’s amazing that I’m the same size again after ten years!

My mom is more than a little worried that I’m losing too much weight, partially because my brother is also losing weight. My brother is five inches taller than me but weighs about the same as me. His weight loss is from the stress of medical school, whereas mine is from eating less, eating healthier, and exercising a lot. I’m losing weight the right way. I even take a multivitamin every morning!

All this exercise and weight loss is certainly a benefit to staying in retail!

Leave a Reply

