Executive Team Leaders

More and more team members at work are finding out that I have a master’s degree in math. My work friend (who isn’t my only work friend anymore) found out today, and most of the executive team leaders (ETLs) know now too.

The ETLs are the people in charge, sort of like the team leaders of the team leaders. The LODs are ETLs, but the converse isn’t necessarily true (yay math). To qualify to be an ETL, you have to have a bachelor’s degree and some leadership experience. Some of my team members (including my team leader and my LOD) think I should apply to be an ETL (since I’m certainly qualified).

As I’ve mentioned numerous times before, I like Target a lot. My LOD thinks I’m crazy for liking Target so much. Most of my team members stay away from Target on their days off, but I’m there all the time. Having a job that offers good money, great benefits, and great managerial experience at a place I love is a fantastic opportunity. I have a pretty good chance, too, since all the ETLs know me. They know I do good work, am reliable, and have an unnatural enthusiasm for Target.

I’m unsure, however, of whether I should apply. The ETL position certainly won’t use my math background, and I don’t know the potential for professional growth. Being an ETL would be totally different from being an actuary or a teacher. It’s a completely new path to consider.

Posted in Job, Life. Tags: , . 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Executive Team Leaders”

  1. Lisa S. Says:

    I have no words of wisdom or advice, really. Not that you’d care, being I’m a total stranger.

    I just wanted to say that it’s very brave of you to consider something that’s not on that ‘expected path’ you have in your head. Lots of people aren’t brave enough to even entertain the thought.

    There’s also a lot to be said for really loving what you do and enjoying what you do and liking who you work for. Who knows how much you would like being an actuary or a teacher, but you do already know you like it at Target. That’s something.

  2. normalboy Says:

    Thanks for the comment, Lisa! It means a lot. I do care about what you think!

    I know that I would like being a teacher a lot (since I’ve taught briefly before), but I’m still not 100% sure about the actuary thing. I’m still trying to find a balance between making “sufficient” money and being happy with my job. From what I can tell so far, being an ETL might fit the bill pretty nicely.


Leave a Reply

