Molten Chocolate Cake

I went to Chili’s (“I want my baby back ribs”) tonight with my parents. I used to go all the time in college, and my parents had never been there before, so I wanted to take them.

My parents weren’t so impressed with the ribs (my mom thought the habanero sauce on the ribs wasn’t hot at all), but I got to eat one of my favorite desserts, the molten chocolate cake. I used to get the molten chocolate cake every single time I went to Chili’s, probably one reason why I was 30+ pounds heavier in college.

While the molten chocolate cake was as amazing as ever, I don’t know if I would get it again for a while. I can’t help but think about the insane amount of sugar and number of calories in it. Even though I don’t have to worry about my weight, eating food at that level of unhealthiness just isn’t appealing anymore.

It’s sad, really. Consuming mass amounts of unhealthy food seems like something people do (and are proud of) when they’re younger, or at least it was true for me. Now that I’m getting older (mid-twenties!), I can’t throw caution to the wind and eat whatever I want anymore.

I’ve been 25 for a few months already, yet I’m just starting to realize how incredibly old I feel. The fact that I’m older than most of my fellow team members at Target doesn’t help.

Leave a Reply

