Tired Eyes

My eyes have been bothering me lately. They often feel tired and irritated, especially after a long day of working or shopping. I wear contact lenses basically every waking hour, so my eyes are red a lot too.

I had a day off from work today, so I figured I would give my eyes a break and wear glasses instead of contacts. I hate glasses. I’m fine with having something on my face all day, but I don’t really like how the nosepads press against my nose and leave funny looking marks. Mostly, though, I just don’t like the way they look on me.

Since my glasses are my backup (which I rarely ever use) to contacts, I haven’t updated the frames or lenses in a few years. My eyes haven’t changed too much recently, so my vision is only a little blurry compared to when I wear contacts, but the frames are totally outdated. I’m not saying that my glasses were at the height of fashion a few years ago, but I could certainly use a frame fashion update.

I shouldn’t spend money on new frames and/or lenses if I still don’t plan on using my glasses much, but it might be a good idea to wear them a little more often from a health perspective. Eyes need to breathe, and wearing contacts can limit how much oxygen the eyes get, especially if worn day in and day out.

I definitely don’t want vision problems (more than already being pretty blind without my glasses/contacts) when I get older, so I might try to force myself to wear glasses at least once a week or something. Maybe that should be another one of my New Year’s resolutions. If only I had better looking frames…

Leave a Reply

