Cashier Training

I finally got trained on how to use the cash register! Part of my job on the sales floor is to back up the cashiers when they need help. One of Target’s goals is to have no checkout lines longer than two people (one being checked out and one waiting), so the cashiers need backup all the time. I was never able to offer my assistance for the last three weeks, but now I finally can!

My cashier training consisted of reading a booklet and practicing using the cash register with a fake ID card, credit card, gift card, and checks. The training wasn’t difficult (it was actually sort of fun), though I haven’t practiced with actual guests yet. I’ll be authorized to back up the cashiers starting on my next shift.

It’s a little strange that the leader-on-duty (LOD) would want me trained to back up cashiers if Target is going to “let me go” in a week. Who knows, maybe I’m not actually going to be “let go” that soon. Either way, now I can say I have experience as a cashier on my resume!

Posted in Job. Tags: , . Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

