Two Weeks Worth

I’ve been debating for a while about getting my work friend a Christmas gift. His birthday is only a few days after Christmas anyway, so I have even more of an excuse to get him something. I kept thinking that giving a gift was probably too forward of me, considering that I’ve only known him for a few weeks, but I decided to go for it anyway.

I bought him a $10 gift card at Cinnabon. He goes to Cinnabon every day to get cheap coffee using his team member discount, so I figured that a gift card there would be thoughtful and useful. I didn’t want to get too big of a gift card, but $10 will still buy two weeks worth of coffee.

I bought the gift card during my lunch break today, but I had to wait a few hours to give it to him so that he was alone (not because I “wanted to be alone with him,” but because I didn’t want other team members to get jealous or something). Not knowing what he would think, I felt pretty nervous before giving it to him. When I finally got the chance, I tried to play it off like it was nothing, quickly saying “Merry Christmas and Happy Birthday” and handing him the card.

He was really surprised (in a good way). He thanked me and seemed genuinely appreciative. After I clocked out for the night and went to say bye to him, he thanked me again and said he would buy me a coffee sometime.

Leave a Reply

