Fifty-two Inches

My brother came home for winter break yesterday. While I was at work yesterday, my parents and my brother went shopping. My brother somehow convinced my parents to consider buying a 52-inch LCD HDTV.

We haven’t bought a new TV in many years (at least ten). The last TV we had was a 32-inch CRT, which is quite small by today’s standards. After hurting his back a few years ago, my brother is very cautious about neck and spine injuries. My mom likes to lean her neck forward when watching TV, and my brother thinks that a larger TV would help prevent future neck problems for my mom. My brother has been pestering my parents about getting a new TV for a while, but they always said it was too much money. Somehow, someway, my brother persuaded them that now is a good time to buy a new TV.

My dad, brother, and I went to Best Buy today to look and compare 52-inch LCD TVs. Our choices in our price range were a Samsung and a Sony. Guess which one we chose? A Sony! We almost leaned toward the Samsung, but brand loyalty came out on top again. The TV would have been far too big for our car, so we are having it delivered on Tuesday. In the meantime, we are preparing for the new addition to the living room.

Since my brother had his back injury, he isn’t supposed to lift heavy objects. On the other hand, I go to the gym all the time, so I’m quite a bit stronger than him, even though he is older. So when my family decided to rearrange all of the furniture in the living room in preparation for a larger TV, it was up to me and my dad to move everything (I’m actually a little stronger than my dad now). On my day off from work, I ended up doing a lot more physical labor!

Leave a Reply

