Decisive Indecision

There’s a difference between living somewhere and vacationing there. Now that I’m only back in town for a short visit, I feel like I should be making the most of my trip and possibly acting like a tourist. When I used to live here, there were some days when the only reason to leave my apartment was to buy a cup of coffee from the cafe across the street. That was okay though, because I didn’t have to “soak in the city” every day. But now, I feel like maybe I should.

The problem is that I don’t really know how to do that. I’m conflicted on what I want to do while I’m here. Because everything seems to be the same as it was when I left four months ago, I sort of just want to do normal things that I did while I was living here. On the other hand, I also want to do things that I can’t do in LA, that are maybe exclusive to this city, since I’m not going to be visiting very often.

Yesterday, I went shopping with some friends in a mall that I used to frequent. It’s actually the biggest mall at which I’ve ever shopped. Canada grows big malls. After shopping there, I was really tired, which is why there wasn’t a proper post yesterday. I’m a pretty good shopper (I like to call myself a “power shopper”), so I can usually walk around a mall for many hours before getting tired. The tiredness kicked in after we had left the mall.

Shopping in a very big mall is something I can’t really do in LA, but it’s not really part of the city either. I sometimes think of malls as portals to anywhere. If you step into a Gap in Canada, you might as well be in a Gap in LA, because they all look the same.

Anyway. My biggest flaw in planning this trip was not having an itinerary (besides graduation). I didn’t want to box myself into anything, so I left my schedule completely open, but now I don’t know what to do. What I really need to do is get up early and decide what to do for the day and stick to it. Indecision is worse than any decision, and I’m very indecisive. I think.

Leave a Reply

