Wisdom Causes Pain

I’m getting my wisdom teeth pulled tomorrow morning, 8am. I found out earlier this week that I’m not getting all four out right now; my dentist is only taking out two of my wisdom teeth tomorrow. I have to get the other two pulled at a different time. Is that usually how it’s done? My parents said that they got their teeth out two at a time as well, but my brother got all four out at once. I have to go through this process twice? I would rather get all four out at once to just get it over with (though I don’t get much of a choice, I think).

Apparently, I’ll be out of commission for at least a week. I can’t eat anything unless I don’t need to chew it. I also can’t do anything that will increase my blood pressure (like exercising), otherwise the gaping holes in the back of my mouth will erupt with blood. Probably not a pretty sight. Last night as I was trying to go to sleep, I thought I felt/heard a small earthquake. I always wonder whether there’s going to be a bigger earthquake afterward, so I get anxious. I could feel my heart rate speed up and my blood run warmer. I also thought about this upcoming week. We better not have any earthquakes, or even earthquake scares, otherwise my mouth will be gushing with blood. Ew. I hate earthquakes. That’s a big problem with living in LA.

Tonight my dad and I went to a fancy-yet-not-so-fancy Italian restaurant to celebrate my dad’s birthday (my mom is in Berkeley all week until Sunday for a business trip). Technically his birthday (according to the lunar calendar) is tomorrow, but I won’t be able to eat anything, so we’re celebrating early. I had salmon with a lemon herb sauce over a bed of spinach. It was really good and mildly healthier than most other things on the menu. It’s sort of my “last supper” before I’m reduced to eating chicken noodle soup and yogurt.

I’m not really as scared of getting my wisdom teeth pulled as I thought I would be. I know that it’s going to be painful, during and after, but I’m not freaking out. It’s like a rite of passage or something, like puberty, only not nearly as awkward or as guilt-ridden.

Leave a Reply

